Skip to main content



The CRL Rights Commission is a constitutional body established in terms of the South African Constitution of 1996. Its constitutional mandate is to strengthen our constitutional democracy. The Commission was established in order to protect and promote the cultural, religious, and linguistic community rights. Its mandate is achievable through both proactive and reactive approaches.

The CRL Rights Commission is set out to build the nation by providing space for each of the cultural, religious and linguistic communities and to promote unity amongst diverse communities

Constitutional Mandate / Act

Download CRL Mandate / Act bellow:

Our Mandate

CRL Management

Mr Edward Mafadza

Mr Edward Mafadza

Chief Executive Officer


Mr Mafadza was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer since April 2016. He has worked extensively for the Commission as head of the Public Education and Engagement Unit.


Adv Kgositoi Sedupane

Senior Manager Legal Services and Conflict Resolution



Mr Brian Makeketa 

Senior Manager Research and Policy Development



Mr Obed Semono

Acting Senior Manager Public Engagement and Education



Mr Mpiyakhe Mkholo

Senior Manager Communication, Marketing, IT & Linkages



Mr Cornelius Smuts

Chief Financial Officer



Full Time Commissioners



Prof David Luka Mosoma

Professor Mosoma is a former Vice Chancellor at the University Of South Africa (UNISA). He brings to the commission vast interpersonal expertise and is a renowned academic.

Deputy Chairperson

Deputy Chairperson

Dr Sylvia Mamohapi Pheto

Dr Sylvia Mmamohapi Pheto began her career with the new democratic dispensation, working for Central Statistical Service in 1994 and moving to the North West Provincial Legislature.